Kepulauan Tayandu

Year of compilation: 2003

Site description
Kepulauan Tayandu consists of 17 islands, three main islands are Tayandu Island, Walir Island and Taam Island. There are around 6 settlements spread on the coast of those three main islands. The people in this area are come from Kepulauan Kai.

Key biodiversity

Non-bird biodiversity: Dugong dugong, Chelonia mydas, Eretmochelys imbricata and Birgus latro (Monk

Pressure/threats to key biodiversity
Natural habitat alteration for plantation and settlement is potential threats in the future.

Protected areas
105450 ha of this area has been proposed as a Nature Reserve/Marine Park (PKA 1997).

Habitat and land use
The main habitat is semi-evergreen rainforest (Monk

Recommended citation
BirdLife International (2022) Important Bird Areas factsheet: Kepulauan Tayandu. Downloaded from on 28/01/2022.